Mr. & Mrs. – Wedding & Congrats Card Series

MR & MRS 2015 (1)

Hello everyone!!!

this card was heavily inspired by the last one I posted for the Newton’s Nook Inky Paws Challenge #21 – Color Challenge.  This time I played with NND Years of Cheers stamp set and created a spot background using masking technique, Simon Says Stamp’s Irregular Dots stencil and some inks.

It may seem a little bit tricky to do, but only at first sight. Let me explain all the steps I did. First I stamped the champagne glasses and put the liquid masking fluid on them. Actually my first attempt was not successful as I stamped the images with Ranger’s Archival Ink and although it’s a very resistant waterproof ink that I let air dry for a hole day and night, it started bleeding once I put the ink through the stencil. (I still wonder why? Maybe because of the liquid masking fluid I put on top?) So I tried to stamp the image with a pigment ink – VersaFine Onyx Black – and heat set everything with clear embossing powder (I linked all the products I used in the supplies list). Then I die-cut from masking paper a square of the same size as the card base with a heart shape inside. First I applied the positive heart shape on the cardbase and blended color inks through the stencil, then I used the negative part of the die-cut masking sheet to blend a gray ink in the center of the card. At this point the trick is to put the negative part before removing the positive one. Otherwise you would never apply the negative part in the right place.

Once I finished blending, I slightly moved the stencil aside and traced the circle shapes with Copic Multiliner.  At this point the background was done. I let the inks air dry for some time, then removed the liquid mask from the glasses and did a very simple copic coloring.

As a final touch I added clear Wink of Stella and a big amount of Glossy Accents on the image in the center to make it look like glass.

MR & MRS 2015 (2)

Wow!!! While I was writing all the description of the cardmaking process, it started to seem tricky even for me. But I assure you that this card didn’t take me so long at all (except of the time the masking fluid takes to dry) and came out pretty easily!

Hope you like it! Here’s the inspiration photo of the Inky Paws Challenge!

IPC_21_Color

And as always thanks so much for stopping by!

Tatiana

SUPPLIES:

 

One thought on “Mr. & Mrs. – Wedding & Congrats Card Series

  1. WOW! This is so cool! I Love spotlighting technique even more on this card than the last one! Thanks for linking up again to our inky paws challenge!

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.