Holiday Card Series 2014 # 9 – ’twas the night before Christmas

twas the night (1)

Hi, guys!

finally had a chance to play with the new 2014 Newton’s Nook Design Holiday release. No doubt my choice was the new Newton’s Curious Christmas stamp set. Love love love the cute kitty images designed by Jennifer Jackson!

This card came out very easy. My imagination designed it ones I saw the stamp. The layout is very simple. First I brought some distress inks on a piece of white Neenah cardstock. Then I stamped the image with the black ink. I filled the outlines of the cat with a black marker and hand draw some other roofs to complete the scene. I wanted to create an impression that the light comes from the moon and you can see only the dark profile of the cat against the night sky. I wasn’t sure about the roofs. At least I decided to leave only the outlines so that the focal point remains on the cat image.

twas the night (2)

At this point I made a mistake. First I wanted it to be one layer card, but when I paper pieced the moon stamped apart and colored with distress inks, I realized that the cat image seemed sitting behind the moon. That was definitely not what I wanted it to be look like. So I stamped and cut out another cat and put it on the foam tape.

I kept the background clean and simple by embossing it white on white with Wendy Vecchi embossing paste and Simon Says Stamp Zig Zag Dots stencil, added some drops of water on the moon to give it a more realistic look and final details with Wink of Stella clear glitter brush and white gel pen.

Since the card is all about Christmas, this is my entry to NND Inky Paws Challenge #16 – Christmas Theme. Go ahead to their blog and check out what other cardmakers created with their stamps.

 NNDIPC_16_Christmas

Thanks so much for stopping by!

Tatiana

Supplies:

Newton’s Curious Christmas stamp set

Simon Says Stamp Zig Zag Dots stencil

Neenah Classic Crest 110 LB SMOOTH SOLAR WHITE Paper

Neenah Classic Crest 80 LB REAM Smooth Solar White Paper

Wendy Vecchi Embossing Paste WHITE Studio

ZIG Wink of Stella GLITTER CLEAR Brush Tip Marker

Uni-Ball Pen Signo Gel WHITE