Happy Birthday – Watercolor Card Series (ft. Simon Says Stamp)

SSS Happy Birthday 2016 (1)

Happy Friday to all!

Yesterday I saw an amazing fabulous watercolor card made by Debby Hughes and I was soooooo inspired by her coloring. So I set down and started playing with my Winsor & Newton Professional Watercolors trying to achieve a typical non perfect splotchy watercolor look.

SSS Happy Birthday 2016 (3)

I used Arches Cold Pressed watercolor paper and even though it has a rough texture, I managed to emboss perfectly Spring Flowers from Simon Says Stamp set. I used wet-on-wet technique for watercoloring where you basically color your image with clean water first and then start dropping colors on the wet surface. I did a few layers of coloring drying each one with my heat gun in between. This particular technique works great with heat embossed images as the raised borders of melted embossing powder contain and protect every single area. But be sure not to work on two connected areas at the same time as colors would spread very easily.

SSS Happy Birthday 2016 (2)I kept everything very simple as I didn’t want to distract attention from a watercolor scene. The heat embossed sentiment on a black card stock brought more contrast and some sequins added a finish touch to the card.

As always thanks so much for stopping by and leaving me comments! I really appreciate it a lot! Have a great week-end!

Tatiana

SUPPLIES:

 

 

6 thoughts on “Happy Birthday – Watercolor Card Series (ft. Simon Says Stamp)

  1. Thanks so much for sharing the beautiful simplicity of this technique with us! I recently got the Spring Flowers stamp set and can’t wait to try this technique with it!

Leave a Reply

