Encouragement Card – Watercolor Card Series

Life 2015

Happy Monday!

Finally I’m sharing my project inspired by the second day of Online Card Classes Watercolor for Cardmakers 2, this time I took the idea from talented Laura Bassen and combined it with emboss resist technique.

This card came out rather quickly. I heat embossed the sentiment from Simon Says Stamp’s Hand Lettered Encouragement set with clear embossing powder. (It’s the first time I use this particular sentiment and unfortunately the stamp itself has a flaw so although I tried to do some fixing you still can see the line across the word “tougher”. It doesn’t bother me much so I went ahead and completed the card.)

To paint the watercolor stripes, I smooched some distress inks on the craft mat and added water with a regular paint brush. The first color was Squeezed Lemonade, for the second stripe I mixed together Squeezed Lemonade and Cracked Pistachio, for the next one I applied Cracked Pistachio itself, then went to Peacock Feathers, Mermaid Lagoon and Faded Jeans for the last stripe. The most important thing at this point is to let every stripe dry before brining next color. It’ll help you to achieve a more “graphical” look otherwise the colors will blend together.

While taking this class I try to do something new and experiment new techniques I never tried before. So as the next step I removed the embossing powder from the watercolor piece by heating it with an iron. The result is very cool. All the shine that embossing powder gives you on a surface was removed too. It seems that you painted magically around the intricate sentiment.

To mount everything on the card base I slightly trimmed the panel, attached it to the fun foam and added a few sequins.

Hope you like the result and thank so much for stopping by!!!

Tatiana

SUPPLIES:

One thought on “Encouragement Card – Watercolor Card Series

Leave a Reply

