I Love You – Love & Valentine’s Day Card Series

I Love U 2015

Hi, All!

Here is another Valentine’s Day card full of hearts and sweet kitties. This time I played with Newton’s Antics stamp set and new for me Peerless Watercolors. Inspired by the no less sweet picture Newton’s Nook Design posted for their Inky Paws Challenge #17, I tried to recreate the heart shape biscuits on my card. So the word “SWEET” is real protagonist of this post.

heartI’d like to say a few words about Peerless colors and to share with you the first impressions I have on using them. If you never see them, Peerless Watercolors are concentrated in dry sheets. I bought a bonus pack that gives you the possibility to have all the variety of colors, but on the small pieces. The first thing to do with these colors is certainly to create your own color swatch as you can never guess what color you would achieve adding water to these sheets. I saw different cardmakers and artists use them for the gorgeous watercolor backgrounds and might say that they really work for this purpose. At first sight it seems that Peerless Watercolors easily spread around the wet paper and create wonderful nuances. But I like them less for coloring objects or small parts as I couldn’t get a gradient look I wanted on the small areas.

No doubt, they have greater quality in comparison to the ordinary watercolor cakes. And like I’ve said above, I think that Peerless Watercolors give you better result on the backgrounds. But if you are looking for the more precise technique, I would recommend you to try Sakura KOI WATERCOLORS. For the beginners I feel to advice instead Tim Holtz’s distress products as they still remain my favorite: you can never go wrong with them and they can be used in many different ways.

In the future I’m going to try the peerless colors more and will post the update.

Thanks so much for stopping by!

Tatiana

SUPPLIES:

5 thoughts on “I Love You – Love & Valentine’s Day Card Series

  1. beautiful card! I have been watercoloring SOOO much with my distress inks, I think i need to dig out my peerless ones again – love your calico kitty 😉 and the kitty on the left looks just like my mister harley 🙂 thank you for playing a long with us at simon says stamp wednesday challenge!!

  2. I think your watercoloring is fabulous! I keep putting off buying the Peerless, but I do really want to try them! Thanks for playing along with the NND Inky Paws Challenge.

  3. This is so beautiful! I love the watercoloring and they way you mirrored the hearts in the photo! Thanks so much for playing along with our Inky Paws Challenge at Newton’s Nook Designs.

Leave a Reply

