Embossed Balloon Card – Masculine Birthday Card

Birthday Wishes

Hi all,

this post is all about stencils. Some days ago I needed a quick card for my friend’s birthday so I took a break from my Holiday Card Series. Masculine cards are always very difficult to make. Since I saw some video inspirations that were featuring the Simon Says Stamp’s December card kit, I thought that the colors and a little bit of shine would be perfect for a December birthday card.

I started with the background and the Birthday Wishes sentiment. First I traced with a pencil a circle to keep my sentiment inside, stamped it with VersaMark ink and heat embossed with Ranger Liquid Platinum Embossing powder. At this point I die-cut the same diameter of circle from some masking paper and temporary adhered it to protect the greeting. I applied the translucent embossing paste through the SSS Zig Zag Dots Stencil and then quickly added the same embossing powder I used on the sentiment before. I put the background aside to let it air dry. Once the embossing paste was dry, I heat set the embossing powder with the heat gun.

Keep in mind that if you heat set the fresh embossing paste with a heat gun, it might bubble. So you can take advantage of it and create cool backgrounds. But if you are looking for a smooth surface, you need to let the embossing paste air dry.

Meanwhile I die-cut three balloons from SSS Soft Navy, Sea Glass and Surf Blue Cardstock and embossed them using dots and diagonal stencils. The star balloon was made by embossing the stamped star images. I assembled everything by putting the balloons and the background on the foam tape, adding the strings to the balloons and finally adhering some sparkling metallic sequins.

Hope you like it and thanks so much for stopping by!!!

Tatiana

 SUPPLIES

Leave a Reply

